How do Muslims practice their faith?

Muslims practice their faith in many different ways, but the major practices for both Sunni and Shi’a Muslims are known as the Five Pillars, which include:

the profession of faith, namely that there is only one God, and that Muhammad is the Messenger of God;
the five daily prayers;
required annual donation to charity in the amount of 2.5% of one’s excess wealth;
fasting during daylight hours in the month of Ramadan; and
making a pilgrimage to Mecca once in a lifetime, if one is mentally, physically, and financially able.

Comment on this FAQ

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Need Help? Chat with us